Sunday, May 12, 2013

Big names bite the dust in Pak polls

Big names bite the dust in Pak polls
  Many stalwarts of Pakistani
politics, including ex-Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf, bit
the dust in the polls that saw a large number of people
exercising their vote for a historic democratic transition.
 The biggest upset was of PPP's Ashraf, who suffered a
humiliating defeat in Rawalpindi-II (National Assembly-51),
Geo News reported.
 As per unofficial and initial results, Pakistan Muslim
League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Raja Mohammad Javed Ikhlas won
the seat.
 Other top leaders of the PPP, also lost their seats.
 Those who were defeated included, former information
ministers Qamar Zaman Kaira and Firdous Ashiq Awan, Punjab
President of PPP Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo, former Public Account
Committee chairman Nadeem Afzal Gondal, and Bushra Aitzaz, the
wife of Barrister Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan.
 PPP's central leader and former federal minister Nazar
Muhammad Gondal and Tasleem Qureshi were also among the
 Similarly, Gilani's both sons, Ali Musa Gilani and Abdul
Qadir Gilani, lost in polls from their Multan constituencies.
 Abdul was kidnapped by suspected Taliban terrorists last
week while he was campaigning.
 In a shocking result, Awami National Party (ANP) chief
Asfandyar Wali Khan suffered an upset defeat in Charsadda's
NA-7 constituency at the hands of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl
candidate Maulana M Gohar Shah who won with 53,492 votes.
 Chaudhry Anwar Ali Cheema, a veteran politician who has
been winning elections since 1985, ran out of luck this time.
Contesting on PML-Q ticket, Cheema lost the 2013 elections to
PML-N candidate Zulfikar Ali Bhatti.
 Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan, in a setback, lost
from a Lahore constituency against PML-N candidate Sardar Ayaz
Sadiq. Khan's loss in Lahore was seen as a major upset and a
psychological defeat for the party.
 However, the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) chief won from
Mianwali in Punjab province, Peshawar and Rawalpindi.
 Former Pakistan Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi of
PTI lost from Umerkot, Sindh, to PPP's Nawab Yousuf Talpur. He
also lost the polls from a Multan constituency.
 PML-N heavyweight Liaquat Jatoi was also defeated in the

No comments:

Post a Comment